America's #1 Direct Source for Pool Supplies!

1.800.288.7946 Experts Available 24/7

Menu
Call Cart

1 Day Delivery

Your ZIP Code: Ashburn Change Location

To Ashburn Change
Celebrating 35 Years!
Source / Promo Code:SOCIBLOGEdit

    Showing 0 of 0 item View All

    Estimated SUBTOTAL* :  $0.00

    *Excludes taxes, handling fee, and EZ Pay Service Fee, if applicable.
    Source Code:SOCIBLOG Edit
    BLACK FRIDAY SALE EVENT! Best deals of the season!
    Shop Now

    Alkalinity Increaser

      • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.0
      • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 501ms
      • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
      • bvseo-msg: Execution timed out, exceeded 500ms;
    MAKES YOUR pH AND CHLORINE LEVELS EASIER TO CONTROL! The pH of your pool is an important measure as it determines the alkalinity or acidity of your pool. Striking the proper pH balance in your pool water is critical for safe and enjoyable swimming which is why many pool owners may find the need to use an alkalinity increaser from time to time. Generally speaking, you’ll need to increase pool alkalinity whenever the pH drops below 7.4 or when alkalinity levels drop below 80ppm. Ideally, you’ll always want alkalinity to range between 80 and 120ppm and should you dip below this you’ll need to use a pool alkalinity increaser.
    • Use when total alkalinity drops below 80 ppm.
    • Makes your pH and chlorine levels easier to control.
    • Granular. Sodium Bicarbonate.
    • Dosage: 1½ pounds per 10,000 gallons will raise the alkalinity level approximately 10 ppm.
    • Spa Dosage: 1-2 oz. per 500 gallons.
    read more
      • Item: # Y5670 2 lbs. $9.99
      • Item: # Y7300 5 lb. Bag $18.99
      • Item: # Y7310 10 lb. Bag $21.99
      • Item: # Y7320 25 lb. Pail $36.99
      • Item: # Y7340 50 lb. Pail $72.99
      • Item: # Y7370 50 lb. Bag $64.99
      • Item: # Y7380 100 lb. (2 X 50 lb. Bags) $124.99
      • Product Description
      • Customer Review
      • Product Specification
      • FAQS
      • MORE INFO

      When alkalinity is too high, your pool water is equally unsafe and scales will begin to form on your pool and pool equipment. Granular alkalinity increaser can help to prevent these problems by stabilizing the pool pH and ensuring that your pool is safe for swimming. More importantly, maintaining a balanced pH by effectively administering an alkalinity increaser also ensures that your pool water is refreshing and enjoyable on even the hottest summer day. The vast majority of alkalinity increaser products are made from sodium bicarbonate which is a safe substance. Depending on the size of your pool you will need to carefully measure your alkalinity increaser in order to accurately and effectively increase pool alkalinity. Essentially, alkalinity increaser acts as a buffer and improves the ability of your pool water to resist pH changes. When your alkalinity level drops below 80ppm, pH will begin to fluctuate dangerously causing water to become acidic and corrosive.

      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked As Advertised I bought this a few weeks ago as my Alk was too low. Used this product over a weeks time and was able to gradually increase to the proper levels.
      Date published: 2016-07-20
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for! I recently switched to the in the swim alkalinity increaser from another "cheaper" brand and it is just amazing how little you need to add to cause the levels to change. Either the product I was using was garbage or this product is much more pure. Either way I'm happy!
      Date published: 2016-06-25
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Correct chemical balance When opening the pool this spring I had low alkalinity. Used this product to bring the pool water back into balance. Worked as advertised.
      Date published: 2016-05-20
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great prices and many items!!!! I bought this a month ago and love it! Won't buy from any one else!!!!
      Date published: 2015-06-17
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from alkalinity extremely important I purchase this on a yearly basis for my pool. The quality is very good. I check my pool every 3 or 4 days for chemical performance. Adding the recommended dosage as needed keeps my pool perfect and I use alot use less pH up and chlorine.
      Date published: 2015-06-14
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price And fast shipment. In the Swim has been in the lead on price and service for a while -- competitors -- online and in store, aren't there when u factor in shipping.
      Date published: 2015-03-13
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow Alkalinity Increaser Wow what a great buy do not need much and it is fast to dissolve in my hot tub and take readings in minuets.
      Date published: 2014-12-29
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from the product is great I bought this a few weeks ago it is great and works just fine..
      Date published: 2014-09-02
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Products are great! The chlorine sticks in your skimmer help keep the chlorine levels up.
      Date published: 2014-08-14
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use & works well I've been using this for several years to keep the total alkalinity at the high end of the recommended range. This tends to eliminate the ph bounce that I used to struggle with in a smaller pool (9700 gal).
      Date published: 2014-08-05
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sorry ordered the wrong product. For some reason I order Spa product not pool. I used it anyway in the pool, but I need more, not equivalent ratio.
      Date published: 2014-08-01
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from product came as described and the next day! always use In the Swim!
      Date published: 2014-07-28
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from this stuff works great . will be buying more when time comes
      Date published: 2014-07-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price for Alkalinity + Product is good. Fast and easy web ordering with an excellent price and quick delivery.
      Date published: 2014-07-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alkalinity Increase in AR Wow! I have bought a lot of different products and have never had the Alkalinity level up to where it needs to be in the last few years. Every time it rains my balance fails plus we loose about 1/2 inch of water per day due to the heat and humidity levels. I bought the bucked, poored half in the pool, the next day poured the remainder in the pool. My PH is perfect!!!!
      Date published: 2014-07-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I got from In the swim , alkalinity increase and worked excellent also I got the super clarifier and clear my pool over night amazing product I recommend these product to any one . Thank you
      Date published: 2014-07-21
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Products. Good Prices. Good Service. I grew tired of paying the big box store big prices and discovered ITS. The product is quality. The prices are good. The service was really good. Thanks, ITS! We will be doing future biz.
      Date published: 2014-07-21
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price great item! Go ahead shop around you will be back. Great price on a great item works perfect for my hot tub and pool. Were using alot less ph+ for pool and ph- for hot tub. And compared to smaller bottles you save a bundle!
      Date published: 2014-07-19
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! This works so much better than dumping baking soda in you skimmer; buy this - it's worth it!
      Date published: 2009-07-25
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use The product was delivered on time and had easy to follow instructions. We can always count on In The Swim to get us the products we need when we need them.
      Date published: 2009-07-12
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I liked the product and how easy it was to balance the alkalinity of the pool. This is the first time I used it and am very happy with it. Thanks!
      Date published: 2009-07-11
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest Product To Use This product is one of the easiest to use alkalinity increasers I've ever used. The directions are right on the side of the container. And there's always In The Swim's conveniency of having it delivered right to your door!
      Date published: 2008-12-14
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from great convience bought 50 pound bag last january for the 3 pools i maintain product works like a charm and will be ordering more for next year, it was shipped immediately and came in excellent packaging
      Date published: 2007-08-10
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Using Chemicals from "In the Swim" has made the maintainence on our 30 foot pool so easy that 15 min a day is all thats required to keep it clean and test the water balance. It has stayed stable all season with less cost than ever before. I'm very happy with their specials and the savings on S & H and utilize those to buy volume enough for us every time I can. Big savings overall. Keep up the great work !!!!
      Date published: 2007-08-03
      • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_22
      • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
      • cp_2, bvpage2n
      • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
      • loc_en_US, sid_SKU31, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
      • clientName_intheswim
      • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.0
      • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
      • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

      Technical Specifications:

      • Granular. Sodium Bicarbonate.
      • Dosage: 1½ pounds per 10,000 gallons will raise the alkalinity level approximately 10 ppm.
      • Spa Dosage: 1-2 oz. per 500 gallons.
      • Proper Alkalinity level is 80-120 ppm.

      What level should my alkalinity level be?
      – Proper alkalinity level is 80-120 ppm.

      What is the chemical name for Alkalinity Increaser?
      – Granular Sodium Bicarbonate

      When would I use Alkalinity Increaser?
      – Use when total alkalinity drops below 80 ppm.


      How Much Do I Need?
      Total Alkalinity Guide
      YOUR READING
      YOU NEED
      GALLONS IN POOL
      7,500 10,000 12,500 15,000 17,500 20,000 22,500 25,000 27,500 30,000
      40 ppm Alkalinity Increaser 9 lbs. 12 lbs. 15 lbs. 18 lbs. 21 lbs. 24 lbs. 27 lbs. 30 lbs. 33 lbs. 36 lbs.
      60 ppm Alkalinity Increaser 7 lbs. 9 lbs. 11 lbs. 13.5 lbs. 16 lbs. 18 lbs. 20 lbs. 22.5 lbs. 25 lbs. 27 lbs.
      80 ppm Alkalinity Increaser 4.5 lbs. 6 lbs. 7.5 lbs. 9 lbs. 10.5 lbs. 12 lbs. 13.5 lbs. 15 lbs. 16.5 lbs. 18 lbs.
      100 ppm
      Desired Range!
      120 ppm
      160 ppm
      200 ppm pH Reducer 5 lbs. 6.5 lbs. 7.5 lbs. 9.5 lbs. 11 lbs. 13 lbs. 14.5 lbs. 16 lbs. 18 lbs. 20 lbs.
      220 ppm pH Reducer 7 lbs. 9 lbs. 11 lbs. 14.5 lbs. 17 lbs. 19 lbs. 21.5 lbs. 24 lbs. 27 lbs. 30 lbs.
      240 ppm pH Reducer 9 lbs. 11.5 lbs. 14.5 lbs. 19.5 lbs. 23 lbs. 25 lbs. 28.5 lbs. 32 lbs. 36 lbs. 40 lbs.
      You May Also Like...